The Dosant; a not so humble cousin of the Cronut

Hello foodies!

You may recently have heard about the latest food craze to sweep New York, the ‘cronut’, a croissant-doughnut hybrid. Hailed as an iconic invention by many in the foodie community, the cronut created by the Dominique Ansel Bakery, has received a frenzy of attention, including queues at sunrise and black market selling. The bakery has even had to set up an online help section (cronut 101), as well as a 2 cronuts per person limit.

Hot on the trail of this sweet madness, one of London’s most talented chefs, Executive Chef at Duck and Waffle, Daniel Doherty, presents Londoners with a seemingly suitable alternative. Known to this side of the Atlantic as the ‘Dosant’.

Not one to easily fall for fads of any kind, I tried my level best to calmly remain away from this calorific craziness, I even reminded myself of our upcoming beach holiday to Puglia and the fact that I mustn’t look like a beached whale (yet again!). However, this sunday my temptation got the better of me and I set out to investigate whether the Dosant really was the answer to the collective sweet teeth of our great city.

And here it is…

image

Oozing thick creamy and zingy lemon curd, encased in a crisp, flaky, buttery croissant and coated in sugar like a doughnut. Complete with a sprinkling of cocoa nibs.

The lemon and chocolate pairing is indeed unusual but works perfectly in my opinion, as the lemon is not overpoweringly tart and the creaminess blends the two nicely. However that said, a fellow guinea pig disagreed and felt a strawberry cream would be more appropriate with the chocolate.

The question remains…

Will the Dosant be flying out of the door or sold on the black market like the cronut? My thoughts are NO. Why?

Two reasons:

1. All four of us guinea pigs were in agreement that even half a Dosant was more than enough for us. It’s intensely rich and criminally sweet, so that even a sweet fiend like me found it just that little bit too much.

2. At £9 a pop, its the most expensive pastry I’ve ever bought and in my opinion, that’s a hefty price tag for even London prices. At the end of the day this is, by definition, a pastry and not a dessert.

So there you have it. Fabulous invention indeed but when it comes to patisserie, I’ll stick to my local deli-made cannoli and Pret croissants to deliver my sweet fix.

Leave a Reply

