A blog is born…

image

Success! After months of talking about, thinking about it, planning it and imagining it, a blog is born. It happened rather suddenly, whilst eating my crunchy nut cornflakes and listening to my offspring blowing raspberries at whatever latest health scare Bill and Susan were banging on about. Actually I must thank the BBC for making my mornings so mundane that I had no choice but to get on with it, instead of procrastinating and hiding behind excuses of being a busy new mum (pah!). And whilst we are at thank you’s, I suppose I owe it to my husband for not believing in me (and thereby leaving me no choice but to prove him wrong), and also a charming lady called Esther Walker, whose hilarious blog I came across the other day and gave me the final push I needed (not that I could better her marvelous efforts, merely exist in shadow).

A little about me… I’m what you call a newbie mummy. Our darling first born is now the mischievous young age of seven months and is a bundle of joy (when I’m not obsessing about her sleep, feeds, no. of poos etc…). But this is not the whole of me. I can’t just be mummy, because I’ve spent six years of my previous life eating and drinking my way through a plethora of restaurants and bars in the fantastic city I call home – London. I’ve made it my business to know who’s opening what, where and when, and when I’m not at my busy job of being a financial PR, I’m scouring through tasting menus and wine lists, planning the next dinner out.

If I’m not eating out, I’m eating in. Our kitchen or control room as it is now known, is where I spend most of my time, mainly pureeing an assortment of veg for the little one’s insatiable appetite but also experimenting with recipes. Not quite to Nigella Lawson standards I admit, (I haven’t got the boobs for it) but its decent grub that’s edible and mostly looks pretty.

Of course having a baby has somewhat altered the going out bit and by that I mean annihilated any ambitions of checking out the latest openings, at the frequency we used to. In fact I almost chuckled when I recently read my profile on Squaremeal.co.uk where in 2008, I stated dining out at least 5-6 times a month. That’s likely to be 5-6 meals out a year now! So I now fill up on twitter news from the likes of Jay Rayner, Richard Vines, Giles CorenMarina O’Loughlin and a host of foodies, bloggers and chefs.

OK I admit, whilst I’ve been on maternity leave I have continued to do my bit for the economy with my addiction to Pret Earl Grey teas and naughty but yummy buttery croissants. And yes, as a mummy I tend to meet lots of other mums to do the whole coffee thing too, but that doesn’t count as ‘eating out’ in the pure sense of the term. So when possible I try to fit lunches in where coffee can become a decent glass of Sancerre (or Gruner Veltliner), and where croissants can be ditched for a decent plate requiring a knife and fork.

So here we are. This will be my new home, my refuge from everyday life and a medium for ranting, praising and general cathartic offloading. Along the way you’ll hear what I think about the capital’s eateries, (when I finally make it out) but mostly what I made for dinner last night, the ridiculous price of baby paraphernalia and hopefully about food from other more exotic lands too (depending on where the hubby takes me next).

If this isn’t your bag and you can’t cope with incredibly long rushed sentences with bad grammar, then you know where the door is. But if it is…read on.

Mitzie

One thought on “A blog is born…

  1. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

Leave a Reply

